Sending messages with Edsby

When students want to communicate with a teacher but don’t want to post in the class, they can send a private message. Be aware, administrators see students’ inboxes and messages cannot be deleted for security and compliance reasons.

Click the mail icon in the navigation bar to access the inbox and view all past messages.

New messages are created by clicking the compose icon in the inbox.

Search for the name of the recipient(s) you wish to message. 

You can add any number of recipients when creating a conversation, however, this cannot be changed afterwards. Think of Edsby Messages as a chat room rather than a chain of emails.

To help teachers keep a conversation focused on its original intent, teachers can close a conversation by clicking the lock icon.

Teachers: avoid creating private messages to all students in a class. It’s more work. Simply post a note in the relevant class instead. It’s quick and easy, and your students will see it because they get notifications of new notes in their classes.

Note: most schools and districts intentionally disable Edsby messaging between students.